News / 89


Warwickshire is a county in the West Midlands region of England. Warwickshire is divided into five districts: North Warwickshire, Nuneaton & Bedworth, Rugby, Warwick, and Stratford-on-Avon, which is famous for being the birthplace of playwright William Shakespeare. In addition, the historic county boundaries included Coventry, Solihull and much of Birmingham.

As the population of urban areas dramatically rose following the Industrial Revolution, safely disposing of the dead in urban areas became a cause of great concern. The Metropolitan Burial Act of 1852 legislated for the establishment of the first national system of government-funded municipal cemeteries across Britain, paving the way for an enormous expansion of burial facilities throughout the 19th century. Urban burial grounds were viewed as public open spaces and were thus professionally designed to be attractive places to visit in their own right.

The 93,527 records in this set contain the details of men, women and children buried in Witton Cemetery between 1881 and 1898. Originally called Birmingham City Cemetery, Witton Cemetery opened in 1863 and is still the largest cemetery in Birmingham. It is 103 acres in size and is laid out like an open park. Each record contains a transcript of the original register entry. The amount of information listed varies, but the registers can reveal your ancestor’s full name, year of death, home county and date of burial.